Duha ka tuig- 2 years

I first arrived in the Philippines two years ago, on July 7th, 2013.  If my Peace Corps service were a bottle of wine (or perhaps a box) it would now officially be considered ‘vintage’ or ‘fancy’, dare I say it- over ten dollars fancy. And, just like that fine bottle of wine I have aged (a lot), but hopefully in the good way- becoming a bit more mature, complex, and definitely darker. Ironically, since joining the Peace Corps I have also become much more tech savvy, now having multiple types of ‘social-media’, effortlessly downloading things off the internet (when I have signal), and even owning my first ever smart-phone (thank you Heather). My China-phone (as my Filipino coworkers call it) now allows me to capture snap shots of day-to-day life, which depending on the day can fluctuate between weird and extremely weird, though recently I have come to realize that I am the weird element; below is a collage of June life.
photo 3 photo 5 photo 4 (2) photo 4 photo 1 (3)photo 2 (3) photo 5 (3)photo 2 (4) photo 3 (4) photo 5 (2)photo 3 (2) photo 1 (4) This past week I joined a group of fellow volunteers on Boracay to celebrate both the 4th of July and our two year anniversary of arriving in the Philippines! On my way to Boracay I visited Jack’s site (Tangalan, Aklan), Jack is helping to establish a community managed eco-park in Tangalan’s old-growth mangrove forests. See picture collage below.photo 3 photo 1 (3) photo 4 (2) photo 2 photo 1photo 4 (4) photo 5 (2)
photo 2 (3) photo 4 photo 5photo 3 (2) photo 2 (5)  photo (52) photo (51) photo 2 (2)

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Duha ka tuig- 2 years

  1. Erene Lamputi says:

    thank you for featuring carles,..im from carles.

Leave a Reply

