2015- Year of the Wood Goat

It is now 2015, which the Chinese have declared as the year of the Wood Goat (or sheep), a year that promises to be a time of increased peace and prosperity.  And it seems that 2015 could indeed be a prosperous year for the Philippines: http://www.bloomberg.com/news/2015-01-07/oil-at-40-means-boon-for-some-no-ice-cream-for-others.html

After a 46+ hour journey home for Christmas and two weeks of friends, family, and craft beer, I find myself back in the Philippines with mixed emotions. Leaving for the Philippines was easy the first time, it was setting out on a journey into the unknown. Leaving for the Philippines this past time was unexpectedly hard, possibly one of the hardest things I have ever done.

photo 2 (4)

Among the loved ones I had to leave behind was Carter, my new nephew, he is now 4 months old.  I am finding it all to easy to slip into my inevitable roll as ‘the crazy uncle’, showering him with odd Filipino trinkets, including a bamboo rain stick and a bracelet given to Filipino babies to ward off witch attacks.

As I now embark on the final 9 month stretch of my Peace Corps service, I resolve to focus my remaining time in the Philippines. To quote a fellow volunteer, “two years is a long time until it is over”, a feeling that summarizes how many of us are feeling at the moment. What at once seemed like a lifetime of service has now been reduced to a mere gestational period (to quote another volunteer), and with the rapid passage of time comes the need to focus. I will try to focus on the sound of the roosters that wake me up at 4:30 in the morning, obviously misinformed of when morning occurs. I will focus on the taste of fresh fish, not getting hung-up on the fact that I am eating juvenile reef fish that are 50% bone and 50% meat. I will focus on spending time with Filipinos, regardless of how I’d much rather watch ‘The Fresh Prince of Bel-Air’ alone on my computer then sing karaoke.  One thought that causes me both extreme anxiety and joy is the thought of closing my Peace Corps service.  Because once its over, its over, and I am just not sure how life will be without Guimaras mangoes and the kindness of Filipinos.

Resolutions for 2015:
1) Savor my remaining time in the Philippines
2) Avoid stomach amoebas
3) Drink more smoothies
4) Complete my thesis research

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to 2015- Year of the Wood Goat

  1. JoAnn Smenda says:

    Time will indeed go fast Tyler, stay focused, you are one awesome Peace Corp guy and we at MarineLab are so proud! Keep making the Phillipines a better place.

  2. Pat Endel says:

    Happy new year Tyler….you resolutions are wonderful and I know you will keep them! You should be so proud of your accomplishments!

Leave a comment